//
you're reading...
Articles Published When I Was Still In TAFW

Atheist zealotry in “flipland”

“My militancy is defined as: fighting for Atheist equal rights. The only thing I want to proselytize is critical thinking.”

Before you sign up for any movement that aims to lessen the bullshit in our society, ask yourselves these questions first: “What exactly am I fighting for?” and ”Do I really know what I’m getting myself into?”.

I’m militant because I’m fighting for a real secular Philippines and because I hate the ill effects of religion: a medieval culture of superstition, hate and division, discrimination, and in the case of the Philippines, habitual interference in state matters.  My way of dealing with this is by raising people’s awareness by writing about it and community work: teaching basic sciences and imbuing critical thought in the minds of our less fortunate youth.

“Atheism is just a rejection of the belief in a deity. Don’t call us fake atheists just because we refuse to join your ignorant and stupid methods of raising social awareness about the ill-effects of church influence in our society.

I may only be just another blogger and you may perceive my work as unimportant, but what makes you think that evangelizing atheism with food, displaying your “I can be good without god” banners and acting like a bunch of flip politicians during elections will leave a significant impact to society?

Time and again I hear your group members say that you’re planting seeds of doubt. Do you honestly believe that giving away The God Delusion books to poor children is a worthwhile effort? How sure are you that they will actually read the book let alone understand it?

If there’s any impression that it will leave on people’s minds, it’s one thing: Atheists are the kind of people who engage in what seems like humanitarian works that reek of propaganda for self-serving reasons.

One issue with youth and zealotry is that young people are typically aggressive and idealistic. Without critical thought, they are easily exploited by opportunists and charlatans who peddle false promises.

While I do agree that raising the people’s consciousness about the ill effects of excessive religious influence in our society is our common goal, I don’t agree with your stand that wiping out religion is the solution to our country’s social problems.

It is both naive and moronic.

The problem of Philippine society as a whole is mainly about poverty, not the preponderance of religion. Poverty breeds ignorance and desperation and religion is in the business of peddling false hopes. Telling a desperate man there is no god and calling him stupid for believing in one is like killing his hope. Be prepared to be hit on the head just like that 17 year old minor in a PATAS Atheist vs theist debate in Luneta.

Although the solution is really economic, we believe that we can contribute through our own small way by raising the people’s awareness about present national issues and teaching the youth about the importance of critical thinking.

Wake up and smell the coffee. It seems you don’t have any idea about the scope of the problem you’re facing. You’re in a hurry. For what — fame?

“We don’t need to “preach” atheism, it’s usually the “logical conclusion” people arrive at once they become more analytical, skeptical, and critical in their thinking; that is, if they’re STRONG ENOUGH to resist the “temptation” to weakly hobble back to the fold of religion.”

– Ramon Berenguer

But if you still insist joining a godless cult is the solution to our fucked up democratic country, then congratulations. You are part of the problem and not the solution.

You have failed as an ambassador of atheism, of  free and critical thought.

You have the right to remain silent.

About pinayateista

I'm no Maria Clara. I'm a Gabriela Silang. I'm an activist and my choice of weapons are my thoughts, my creativity and my keyboard. I hate censorship and I value freedom of speech. I use expletives in my articles most especially, when I'm talking about something disgusting: like corruption, sexual abuse, etc. That's my style and I won't apologize for it and neither will I force people to follow my lead. But even so, I know which lines not to cross. =D

Discussion

One thought on “Atheist zealotry in “flipland”

  1. Gustong gusto ko talaga ang points of view mo Pinay Ateista. hindi ako mahilig mag basa ng blog pero your blog always gives me inspiration. keep it up my good friend

    Posted by Joven T. Maurillo | July 4, 2013, 2:16 pm

What can you say about this blog post?

