//
you're reading...
Current Events

Thoughts on the art exhibit fiasco

I often read posts of theists who say that insulting their religion is like insulting one’s mother. The “Kulo” Go! art exhibit fiasco is no exemption. Okay, I think before they draw out their verbal projectiles to annihilate anyone who disagrees with them, that they should put into consideration that Mideo is an Atheist and that art exhibit was meant to draw-in appreciation from people who think like him.

For some, Jesus is a myth. For some he is an ordinary person. What difference does it make? We make fun of politician’s faces don’t we? They are living, breathing, walking, talking individuals. And to their loved ones, their image are just as sacred as the images of “individuals” many revere as holy.

Maybe we should do something about the newspapers first. In every newspaper, there’s a 99% probability that there’s a cartoon representation of a politician. And often times, it’s not even flattering.

If insulting one’s beliefs is like insulting one’s mother, one begs to ask, how many of the people who work in news firms and the protesters who take to the streets carrying their own version of PGMA’s face are theists?

PGMA is a mother too, right? Has anyone apologized to her children yet?

*cricket sounds*

About pinayateista

I'm no Maria Clara. I'm a Gabriela Silang. I'm an activist and my choice of weapons are my thoughts, my creativity and my keyboard. I hate censorship and I value freedom of speech. I use expletives in my articles most especially, when I'm talking about something disgusting: like corruption, sexual abuse, etc. That's my style and I won't apologize for it and neither will I force people to follow my lead. But even so, I know which lines not to cross. =D

Discussion

No comments yet.

What can you say about this blog post?

