//
you're reading...
Articles Published When I Was Still In TAFW

We don’t deed a “cop” in the sky to know what’s right and what’s wrong

We don’t need a cop in the sky to know what’s right and what’s wrong and religion doesn’t hold the monopoly to morality. It all boils down to ethics (which is on my long list of things to study). Just take the Reproductive Health Bill issue as an example. I believe that it is our social responsibility to take care of our less fortunate fellowmen, and giving them the means to plan their families based on what family planning best suits them, is one of them. In addition to that, it doesn’t take a rocket scientist to know that a family who’s living on Php 100.00 a day, with 8 mouths to feed and a baby on the way is living hell on Earth. Can anyone justify allowing mothers to give birth to babies who’ll only live a slow death? Which is more important? The life of embryos or the life of the real babies? Sure, the opposition says that providing jobs is more important and fruitful than providing a truckload of contraceptives, but, what’s the use of providing jobs if the poor would keep on adding one family member every year? Which is more sensible? Allowing them to plan their families, or just provide a few jobs to the many who are willing to bleed for food because they have way too much children to support?

I support the Reproductive Health Bill and I see nothing immoral in it, especially when it comes to the implementation of sex education in schools. But, the *righteous* people believe that they have every right to bully, threaten and call me and my comrades as baby killers even if the RH Bill is against abortion, immoral, a bunch of wh*res and orgy loving f*ckt*rds for supporting this bill which only aims to reduce the number of maternal and infant deaths in this country, to give the poor people a better quality of life, and to arm the youth with the knowledge on how they can be more responsible when it comes to reproductive health. Now, who’s being immoral? Is it us or the *righteous* “Pro-Lifers” who are really Pro-Fetus people and who are so righteous they think they can do just about anything because they have an imaginary friend? Their favorite line is actually, “If we are with God, then we must be right”. Yeah right. Sneer some more.

I can proudly say, that us Atheists do good because we have good hearts and not because we are being watched by our sky daddy and we are expecting a cozy spot in an imaginary heaven or that we fear being punished in an imaginary furnace for all eternity. For us, there aren’t gods and demons to fear, we only have one life to live and we should live it well.

About pinayateista

I'm no Maria Clara. I'm a Gabriela Silang. I'm an activist and my choice of weapons are my thoughts, my creativity and my keyboard. I hate censorship and I value freedom of speech. I use expletives in my articles most especially, when I'm talking about something disgusting: like corruption, sexual abuse, etc. That's my style and I won't apologize for it and neither will I force people to follow my lead. But even so, I know which lines not to cross. =D

Discussion

No comments yet.

What can you say about this blog post?

