//
you're reading...
Random Stuff

“I think the world is overpopulated with dead people”

As the population grows, the demand for food, clothing, housing, oil, energy and clean drinking water also increases. But it also got me thinking: with more people, comes more future dead people.

I’ve heard some out of whack claims that overpopulation is impossible because 7 billion people can easily fit in New York City. They seem to forget that not all lands can be used for shelter. Some are left as forests, some are used for agriculture and some are uninhabitable.

A friend of mine said: “Like bacteria multiplying in a nutrient-rich Petri dish, a runaway growth cannot run beyond the dish, beyond the finite resources of one’s home, beyond the capacity and ability of the environment to maintain homeostasis. Numbers rise only to fall as the limits to growth are reached, as the supply of food and energy dwindles, as the spiraling amount of excrement and refuse poison and choke the colony. We’re reaching those limits, fast.”

The problem we’re facing now at the world’s current population is really not space, but sustainability. So since not all of us can agree that the world is overpopulated, and since it seems that the world is filled with people who take to heart a non-existent being’s famous words: “Go forth and multiply”, I think we can agree that we should do something about this problem; that our beloved world is indeed overpopulated with corpses.

Corpses don’t need anything. Living people need food.

Cemeteries are a waste of land and some are as big as a golf course. It is my personal opinion that it would be better used for agriculture to sustain the growing demand for food. And not only are the dead competing with the living for space, the practice of burying corpses is harming the environment as well. I read from an article I got from Google that; “We bury enough embalming fluid to fill eight Olympic-size swimming pools, enough metal to build the Golden Gate Bridge, and so much reinforced concrete in burial vaults that we could build a two-lane highway from New York to Detroit,”. 

This morning I read in The Philippine Daily Inquirer that the 7 billionth baby will be born on Monday. The last billionth was on October 12, 1999. India is expected to overtake China as the world’s most populous country and it will have a population of 1.5 billion by 2025. With about 2 babies being born every second, the world population will reach up to 10 billion in 2100. Experts say, we will face huge challenges containing poverty and saving the environment.

I think we should all consider “going green” when it comes to our end-of-life process. Cremation doesn’t cost much, it’s sanitary and it doesn’t take up much space. 7 billion people = 7 billion corpses. 

About pinayateista

I'm no Maria Clara. I'm a Gabriela Silang. I'm an activist and my choice of weapons are my thoughts, my creativity and my keyboard. I hate censorship and I value freedom of speech. I use expletives in my articles most especially, when I'm talking about something disgusting: like corruption, sexual abuse, etc. That's my style and I won't apologize for it and neither will I force people to follow my lead. But even so, I know which lines not to cross. =D

Discussion

3 thoughts on ““I think the world is overpopulated with dead people”

  1. People need land. Why, even beyond death, a lot of people are still selfish. Buying land for the sake of the dead? Example is the manila memorial, how many hectares of land just for the dead where it can instead be used to serve the living like agriculture, housing etc. Second reason is that they’re making the land infertile by capsuling the dead thru the use of coffin. How will there be life cycle if the land can’t use the dead to give fertility to the land? As I always say, the dead has no value to the living. The least that we can do is to spend money for the cremation of the dead and spread its ashes on our farm lands.

    Posted by Harvey Aw 胡子江 | November 2, 2011, 7:40 am
  2. I’m all for honouring our beloved dead, but I agree that we should find cheaper and more sustainable ways to send off our dearly departed back to nature. The Vikings were on the right track.

    Posted by Aldrin | November 2, 2011, 10:23 am

What can you say about this blog post?

