//
you're reading...
Short Blog Entries

On Atheists receiving “Christmas Bonuses”

There’s so much animosity toward Atheists and non-Christians and Christmas bonuses. In fact, last year I read a couple of Facebook status updates by a couple of rabid Katolibans that say “if Atheists don’t believe in Christmas, then they should not receive Christmas bonuses.”

What is a Christmas bonus? 

It is really called the The 13th month pay or Presidential Decree No. 851, which all rank and file employees will receive not later than December 24 of every year, regardless of the amount of basic salary that they earn in a month provided that their employers are not exempted from this law. This amounts to not lower than 1/12 of their net annual salary.

Giving bonuses is a way of saying thank you for a year’s worth of good work performance and at the same time, a way to motivate employees to do good and to give them reason to put their shoes on every morning.

It’s only called such because this Christian holiday happens to be in December. It is given by the employers and business owners and not by the priests. It has nothing to do with religious beliefs or the lack of it. Atheists are also members of society and those who are business owners are also required to pay their employees this bonus and Atheist employees also have the right to receive a reward for their hard work. Get over it. 🙂

If anything, it’s the Christians who should not receive this bonus… didn’t Jesus say “give all your money to the poor”? 😛

About pinayateista

I'm no Maria Clara. I'm a Gabriela Silang. I'm an activist and my choice of weapons are my thoughts, my creativity and my keyboard. I hate censorship and I value freedom of speech. I use expletives in my articles most especially, when I'm talking about something disgusting: like corruption, sexual abuse, etc. That's my style and I won't apologize for it and neither will I force people to follow my lead. But even so, I know which lines not to cross. =D

Discussion

No comments yet.

What can you say about this blog post?

