//
you're reading...
Short Blog Entries

“You don’t want to receive God in your life? Then go to wherever you deserve to go and may God have mercy on your mortal soul.”

Lake of Fire photo from: http://spiritlessons.com/

On my way to pay the water bill this afternoon, two mothers seated on the left side of the jeepney I was in were talking about Jesus Christ. One was obviously trying to convert her friend to join her religion. Her friend, judging by her facial expression was annoyed but the other seemed oblivious to it. The evangelist then tried one last gimmick to market her religion by saying: “You should be careful because Catholicism is not Christianity. God may send you to hell because of that.”.

If only I’m intolerant, I would have butted in and said: “Heh, evidence for “G”od, Satan, heaven and hell please. . .” but all I can think about was I want to get my ass out of the public transport fast.

I’ve had a share of this really annoying threat from evangelicals who just won’t take NO for an answer. I’m only human. I get really irritated by intolerant cyber-bullying buffoons who think I am a damsel in distress who needs saving and who think they have a say on what I should believe in, who I should befriend and how I should live my life.

Don’t you just hate it when people who so believe with every grain and fiber of their being that what they believe in is the absolute truth and if it doesn’t make sense to you because your bullshit detector’s gone off and if you refuse to let them bully you into submission, and eventually conversion to their religion, they’d threaten you with an eternity of suffering in the non-existent hell fire in the equally non-existent afterlife brought about by the really evil non-existent demonic creature which is the product of man’s creative imagination? They do this every time and when confronted and when their beliefs are questioned they demand respect and cry “live and let live”.

Fear mongering and scare tactics are really a clever way to draw in more converts. So here’s what I thought: Let’s give them a dose of their own medicine.

Whenever they’d say “You don’t want to receive God in your life? Then go to wherever you deserve to go and may God have mercy on your mortal soul.” Let’s reply with: “May the warden of the psychiatric ward have mercy on you and your delusions. And I hope you love tranquilizers.”

That’s annoying at the very least isn’t it? Actually, that’s outright disrespectful. 🙂

About pinayateista

I'm no Maria Clara. I'm a Gabriela Silang. I'm an activist and my choice of weapons are my thoughts, my creativity and my keyboard. I hate censorship and I value freedom of speech. I use expletives in my articles most especially, when I'm talking about something disgusting: like corruption, sexual abuse, etc. That's my style and I won't apologize for it and neither will I force people to follow my lead. But even so, I know which lines not to cross. =D

Discussion

No comments yet.

What can you say about this blog post?

