//
you're reading...
Current Events, Uncategorized

Happy Mother’s Day Mum

Me, mum and my older sister at Puerto Azul in the 80’s.

Though you are perceived as just a dispensable baby-making machine and an unintelligent subordinate by the misogynist religions such as Catholicism, Christianity, Judaism, Mormonism and Islam, pay no heed to whatever they say. You know perfectly well that you are more special than what they make you seem to be. And I cannot find the right words to make you see how incredibly thankful I am to have you as the giver of my life.

Mum, I am very grateful and appreciative of your strength, courage, resilience, generosity, intelligence, wisdom, patience and love. We may have a lot of things we don’t agree with, but you have helped shape me to become the moral and tough person that I am today nonetheless. You can rest assured, that even though I have let go of my superstition, that I am still the same person you’ve always known. And no, you have not failed as a parent because you have raised me well. And I promise, I will not let you down.

I know that you have experienced a lot of sadness and disappointments the past year, but hopefully, this very special occasion will make you see that all the good events that have transpired, and all your achievements as a mother far outweighs the bad. I know that I cannot ever reciprocate what you’ve done for us, but even for just one day, let me show you how special you are to me and how much you are loved and appreciated. Sit back and relax. It’s your day today.

Happy Mother’s Day, “Wowa Chiki”

About pinayateista

I'm no Maria Clara. I'm a Gabriela Silang. I'm an activist and my choice of weapons are my thoughts, my creativity and my keyboard. I hate censorship and I value freedom of speech. I use expletives in my articles most especially, when I'm talking about something disgusting: like corruption, sexual abuse, etc. That's my style and I won't apologize for it and neither will I force people to follow my lead. But even so, I know which lines not to cross. =D

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day Mum

  1. Your love and respect for your mom comes through, pinay_ateista. Indeed, she has raised you well. Cheers to her and all moms on this special day!

    Posted by Guy With A Blog | May 12, 2012, 11:55 pm

What can you say about this blog post?